RSS

Daily Archives: 8 September 2008

Smile for the Camera: Crowning Glory

The last Smile-for-the-camera Carnival was impossible because any attempt to choose a favorite picture had to leave too many out and could only be true for the picture selected at that time and place. Five minutes later, I probably would have changed my mind. The Crowning Glory theme was a lot easier because it gave me some boundaries that I had to observe, but I was pretty sure what my final selection would be before I even started looking. Still there was that part of the instructions that said, “Don’t limit yourself to just hair fashion through the ages, got a great photograph of a hat, helmet, bonnet, or some other interesting headgear? Share!” That opened up lots of possibilities, so rather than limit myself to one, I decided to share some of the great pictures that fell into the “also ran” category.

The first three are pictures of my wife’s mother, her little sister, and my wife.

 The next group includes my son Rick as Aslan, my son John with really pretty hair, and son Mark with his best Jesus look.

Next in the classic headgear category are my great, great, great grandmother Dicey Mitchell Ball (the camera didn’t catch her with her eyes closed, she was blind), my mother with her big brother, and my wife’s mother with her big hat.

 

In the next group are another shot of me and my big brother (obviously no longer in the Philippines), a shot of my wife on the way to do a little shopping, and one of my wife’s cousins with the cutest little hat.

 

 The final group displays the glories of my son Bob, doing his Johnny Appleseed impression, and my three grand daughters looking oh so cute in their pink trucker hats (gifts from their uncle John who got cut out of the picture because he is not nearly as cute as they are.)

The runner up picture is another shot of Emma and Eliza who are very excited about their wonderful hair.(I still can’t believe their friend was patient enough to braid all the girls hair that day).

The winner is the shot of three brothers-Matt, John, and Bob-sans hair. A few years ago their sister was diagnosed with breast cancer. An experienced friend advised her that it is a lot less traumatic to just go ahead and cut your hair off rather than waiting for it to fall out.  When her brothers found out, the told her to let them know when she was going to shave her head and they would join her. This picture is the result-the Crowning Glory of “philadelphia.” 

 

Of course following that, she got to wear a wig and they just had to wait until it grew out. Just in case you were wondering the middle brother is the same one with all the beautiful curls up in group two. 

This carnival has truly been a joy to participate in and believe me there were many more pictures that didn’t quite make the final groups.  I am eagerly anticipating the next carnival.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 8 September 2008 in Cheek, Genea-bloggers

 

Tags: , ,

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.